Dreams made of glass 42/52

Photobucket
Title: Envy
Genre: drama / romance
Characters: Consuela, Crystal, Jarod, Ramon, Early, Ferris.
Prompt: 93
Rating: M
Type: series
Summary: We get to see a new side of both Early and Ferris.
Warnings: language, adult situations.
AN: Just wanted to say that whoever was the secret writer that made that sweet secret about me or Nando, I’m not entirely sure *grins* then Thank you so, so much! And then there were of course also the awesome secret about simfic50, its true you know, we really are some likeable bats, so do unleash your muse and come join us! –  Uhm, I’m planning on a Ferris flash next, just so you know.

Choose life.
Choose a job.
Choose a career.
Choose a family,
Choose a fucking big television
Choose washing machines, cars,
compact disc players, and electrical tin openers.
Choose DIY and wondering who the fuck you are on a Sunday morning.
Choose your future. Choose life. 

But why would I want to do a thing like that?
I chose not to choose life: I chose something else. And the reasons?
There are no reasons.
Who needs reasons when you’ve got Heroin?

-PF Project.

Photobucket
d back at her son. Early should have been here for an hour ago, he had even called her this morning to assure her that he would be here on time.

Suddenly the doorbell rang, and with a frown Crystal left the living room with Ramon on her hip, if Early wanted to be an asshole, so could she.

Photobucket
Consuela opened the door, smiling at her son. “Angel” she said smiling, her smile faded as she saw Ferris stand behind Early smiling a little nervously at her. Consuela’s eyes met her sons once more, “You father won’t like this” she stated.

“Come on mama, I am sorry I am late, but I swear I have a perfectly rational explanation” He whined childishly.

Consuela arched an eyebrow, waiting for Early to speak. “The bus was late, okay? We work in the other damn end of this town”  Early said, “Can we come in now?”

When Consuela stepped aside and let the boys inside in the apartment, she was still not satisfied with the answer. Early grabbed his mothers shoulder, looking her straight into her eyes. “I am not high mama, I promise, its the God honest truth, the bus was late”

She nodded, wanting to trust her son, but he had cheated her one too many times.

Photobucket
Jarod got out of the sofa and came over to his family and Ferris. “What are you doing here?” He asked harshly.

“Oh hey Mr. Cortez” Ferris mumbled. “Early asked me along, and I just wanted to see the baby, that’s all”

“Well, Early is trying to pull his life together, and the last thing he need now is you tagging along, do you understand that?” Jarod said, his voice sharp and cold, like his gaze.

Ferris squirmed a little, “I promise you Sir, I just wanted to see Ramon, Crystal is an old friend of mine as well”

“Friend is not exactly the word she uses about you, young man. I would suggest you left now, and..”

“Wait!” Ferris suddenly growled. “I..”

Photobucket
He was saved by Early who suddenly wrapped his arms protectively around his neck. “I asked him to come Jarod” Early said with a little pout.

“What are you doing, still associating with someone like him?” Jarod asked, looking worriedly at his son. “I thought you were getting your life together”

“Ferris is my best friend, Sir” Early said, his voice slightly amused. “If he leaves, so does I”

Jarod’s eyes were deadly cold. “The last thing you need right now is for him to come with his diseased habits and pull you down with him again, Early you have Ramon to think of, please be smart”

“He ain’t dragging me anywhere I don’t wanna go, Sir.” Early smiled sweetly. “Besides he has been holding a regular job for over a month now”

“I can answer for myself, thank you” Ferris mumbled, embarrassed, struggling weakly against Early’s death grip around his neck.

Photobucket
Jarod sighed “You’re breaking your mothers and Crystal’s heart, bringing your boyfriend here”

Early laughed softly, “So that is the problem? You think he’s my boyfriend?” Ferris poked Early in the side to shut him up, but he couldn’t see the sadistic grin on Early’s face. “So you think that  I am fucking my own best friend?” Jarod’s lips were clamped so tight they were colourless and bloodless. Early’s smile grew to a huge grin. “And what if I was? What’s with this sudden interest of my private life?”

Jarod inhaled through his nose to compose himself, “You know what your mother thinks on these matters”

“I do” Early said, hugging Ferris even tighter.

Photobucket
“Stop Early” Ferris groaned, trying to push Early off him. “Mr. Cortez” he said, finally getting free of Early’s death grip. “I am not his boyfriend, I never was, we’re just friends. And all I wanted was just to see Ramon”

Jarod clearly didn’t believe anything Ferris said, but nodded. “Did he tell you that Crystal is pregnant again?”

Ferris wanted to be cool, but none the less the message had the effect that Jarod had counted on, Ferris inhaled sharply, but quickly mumbled a ‘congratulations’.

“See?” Jarod said with a haughty smile. “there ain’t no room for you here”

Ferris looked at Early with a little sad smile, “Look Early, I can just see a picture of the kid, its fine. I don’t wanna ruin your afternoon with your family”

Early was about to object when he was cut off by Crystal.


Photobucket
“He can stay” Crystal suddenly said, as she came back into the room. Both Jarod and Consuela looked worried up at Crystal, who just smiled. “You just go, otherwise you will be late for the show right?” She looked over at Ferris. “Besides I actually wanted to talk with him”

Jarod went and grabbed their coats, he didn’t object, neither did Consuela, but it was clear that none of them liked leaving Crystal and Ramon with Ferris and Early. “We’ll be back in about 3 hours” Jarod said, “And then you are gone” He pointed at Ferris.

“Of course, Mr Cortez” Ferris mumbled with a slight nod.

Photobucket
Ferris made his way to the far end of the room, the kitchen. Thinking he would just stay here. He watched Early & Crystal with Ramon, he couldn’t help but to smile when the kid seemed to totally psyched at the prospect of playing with his dad. Jarod was right, he was an intruder. To Ferris’ surprise it felt like a heavy grey ball that left him cold inside, had he actually fallen in love with Early over the years?

Early looked like a natural, like he was born to be someone’s dad. And after all, he had been helping Early to fix up the apartment for Crystal and Ramon, right? But he knew that he had delayed the last parts, he wanted things to stay like they were, he was safe, unharmed, and felt loved every night when he crept under the covers with Early. But it was not his place was it? It was Crystal’s bed, he was just mooching, like a cuckoo’s chick.

Photobucket
“So Ferris” Crystal said, leaving Early and Ramon on the floor, walking to the kitchen to make some coffee. “You’ve been holding a regular job huh? Congratulations on that” She said, her fake politeness shining through.

“I have” Ferris said with a little smile, not able to look Crystal in the eyes. 

“So where do you live?” She asked casually, both knowing there were nothing casual about it.

“At Early’s” Ferris said truthfully.

Photobucket
Early looked up at Crystal and Ferris for a split second before Ramon demanded his full attention again.

Photobucket
“Oh you are, are you?” Crystal huffed. “Bet you love that”

“Crystal, please” Ferris sighed, knowing what she was getting at. “I’m out the second I have enough money for my own place”

“Right” Crystal sneered. she narrowed her eyes glaring at Ferris. “Are you fucking him?”

Ferris shook his head, “I am helping him to fix up his place while I stay there.. I..”

“That was not what I asked you” Crystal said coldly.

“No I’m not” Ferris lied.

Photobucket
Crystal clearly didn’t believe him, judging from her expression. And Ferris took a deep breath. “Crystal for fucks sake, you know me better than that”

“Exactly” Crystal sneered. “Why are you lying to me? I asked you a simple question, Ferris”

“Just because I’m gay does not mean I have to bed every man I see, okay Crystal?” Ferris argued.

Crystal just laughed softly. “He won’t ever be yours, you know that right?”

“Dammit woman, I am not your enemy, when will you fucking understand that?” Ferris spat.

Photobucket
“What you are is a little fucking two faced, back stabbing bitch” Crystal hissed, careful not to yell and attract Ramon’s attention.

He wanted to argue, but he knew she was right, he’d been terribly rotten by her, ignoring that she would be hurt in the process. “Point taken” He just said, flatly.

“Early and I are going to have a baby in six months, and he has tried to hard to be someone who can be around his children, and I don’t want that ruined, and buy God Ferris, I would rather kill you myself than let you have my man”

Ferris looked down at his feet for a moment. and then nodded. “I am not trying to take your man, Crystal” he mumbled. “I want him to be happy, and I want Ramon and the baby to have their dad” He looked up at her with a little sardonic smile, “You, I couldn’t care less about”

Photobucket
Crystal actually smiled. finally this conversation was getting somewhere.

“But hey, man” Ferris said with a smile, tossing his arms up in the air “If it makes you feel better, I will be out of his place by tomorrow”

“Counting on the last shag, huh?” Crystal huffed.

“Can you really blame me?” Ferris said with a lopsided grin.

Photobucket
Ferris stepped close to Crystal and whispered. “What will you do when he tracks me down? cause he will, and you know it” Ferris arched a prefect eyebrow. “I have something he want, something he can’t get from you. And believe me he will eventually find me” He smiled as Crystal blushed crimson from anger. “And if its not me, its some other guy, and you know it, you can’t erase that part of him no matter how hard you try”

“So it’s back to the bus station for you then?” Crystal spat. not commenting on Ferris’ statement.

“Guess so” Ferris said with a shrug. “Look, I promise I won’t tell him I’m leaving, and I will quit my job so you don’t have to worry about me working at that diner with him all day. That job was crap anyway. Happy now?”

Photobucket
Crystal sighed, “Just fuck off Ferris, let Early live the life he was supposed to. Don’t take Ramon’s father from him just because you want to get laid”

“It was never about that Crystal” Ferris finally admitted with a sigh. “I love him just as much as you do, and maybe it scares you that he loves me back, like he loves you. But for the sake of your children, I promise I will stay clear, starting from tomorrow”

Crystal nodded. “Goodbye Ferris, be safe, okay?”

“Like you gave a fuck” Ferris sighed, shaking his head. “But thanks, and the same to you”

TBC

Leave a Reply

