Dreams made of glass 40/52

Photobucket
Title: Home
Genre: Romance / Drama
Characters: Ferris & Early
Prompt: 74
Rating: M
Type: series
Summary: I just found me a brand new box of magic.
Warnings: language, adult situations
AN: Kinda short chapter again, sorry.


You keep lying, when you oughta be truthin’
and you keep losin’ when you oughta not bet.
You keep samin’ when you oughta be changin’.
Now what’s right is right, but you ain’t been right yet.

These boots are made for walking, and that’s just what they’ll do
one of these days these boots are gonna walk all over you.

-Nancy Sinatra

Photobucket
Ferris had arrived some hours earlier in SimCity, he had not bothered to go search for anyone, he was tired to the bone and wanted nothing but something to eat, a bath and sleep for a week or something. getting the money for a plane ticket proved to be harder than he had thought.

He had went to Early’s apartment. How the hell Early managed to have an apartment was a enigma to Ferris, maybe his parents paid rent? The landlord remembered Ferris well, and let him into Early’s apartment.

Ferris had been sitting on Early bed and waited for a while and had just decided that he would just go ahead and take a bath while he waited. But as soon as he got up from the bed, he heard a key in the door. He looked up and smiled at Early’s surprised face.

Photobucket
“Ferris! Holy crap, man. I thought you left town or something, for like good I mean” Early said, staring at Ferris as were he a phantom that would disappear if he blinked.

“I kinda did” Ferris shrugged. “You were right, Ansel was a creep, and uhm.. it doesn’t matter, I’m here now, right?”

“You are, oh man..” Early put down the box he had been carrying on the table, and looked up at Ferris again, “You missed a lot while you were gone”

“Like what?” Ferris asked, smiling as he noted the box Early had been carrying was hair bleach.

“I, eh.. I don’t know how to put this, but Setsuna.. he, uhm.. he died” Early said, his voice became a whisper. “He o.d’ed, I mean what were the odds? it was his first time and all, how the hell was I supposed to know that?”

Ferris said nothing, he just nodded. How odd to be back to this, after being away for so long, this life seemed like an alternative universe or something.

Photobucket
“But you on the other hand, you look absolutely radiant” Early said with a smile.

“Being left on a tropical island does that to a person” Ferris grinned. “Radiant?” He laughed, “What the hell kinda word is that anyway?”

Early laughed too and shrugged, “It was just what popped up in my mind when I looked at you”

Photobucket
“What about Crystal?” Ferris asked a little nervously, not knowing if Early would answer or blow a fuse.

“She’s fine” Early said with a nod, “She still lives at my parents, with our son”

“You had a boy?” Ferris cheered, “I didn’t know, man. Congratulations!”

“Yeah, his name is Ramon” Early said with a proud smile. “The cutest kid you ever saw, looks just like her”

Ferris looked around in Early’s filthy apartment, “So why haven’t you fixed up this place so y’all can live here? I don’t mind helping out cleaning”

Photobucket
Early seemed to ignore the comment, and just pulled Ferris in for a hug. “I really missed you, you know”

“I missed you too Early” Ferris said, “I wish you had come with me”

“It had me thinking” Early mused, “Maybe Crystal was right that day, maybe I like you more than I want to admit”

“Early, listen to yourself” Ferris squirmed in Early’s arms. “You don’t like boys for real, I know that. I don’t mind that you throw me a pity-fuck every now and then” Ferris smiled sweetly. “It has just always been like that, I might have been frustrated when we were younger, but I’m alright about it now, really Early”

“I never pity-fucked you in my life” Early frowned. “Is that really what you think?”

Photobucket
“Uhm yeah, I mean.. You always kinda just made yourself available when I was bummed out, so I just thought that, eh” Ferris mumbled embarrassed.

Early shook his head, “I made myself available to anyone, Ferris”

“Not for free” Ferris argued.

“True” Early admitted, “But still, all I can think about when I see you, is to kiss you, how is that a pity-fuck?” And then he leaned in and kissed Ferris on the lips.

Photobucket
“Early, no” Ferris mumbled, fighting an inner battle. there was nothing he wanted more right now than to just let Early lay them on the bed, and let it take its course, but he also knew it would be wrong, he would just set himself up for heartbreak once more if he believed in those lips. Early kissed his way down Ferris’ neck, and whatever doubts Ferris had was rapidly loosing their footing. “No Early” He half laughed, half scolded. “This is not what you want”

“Oh yes it is” Early whispered husky, “It’s exactly what I want”

Photobucket
The next morning, Ferris got up to a smell he couldn’t quite determine, was that toast? When had Early made toast? Ferris popped up on an elbow and watched Early standing in his tiny filthy kitchen, making those damn toasts. Shaking his head amused, Early swung his legs out of bed and pulled on his pants again. He walked over to the small dining table, sitting down. “It looks good on you” He said, his voice hushed from sleeping.

“Really?” Early said turning around, looking at Ferris with a smile, “Do you think Crystal will say the same?”

“Sure I do” Ferris said, looking up at his friend, “It’s very dad like”

Photobucket
Early placed a plate with a toast in front of Ferris. “She won’t let me see Ramon unless I cleaned up some” Clearing his throat he added “She might be right”

“Of course she is right, man” Ferris said, grinning. “So that’s what’s up with the bong, the hair dye and the toasts?”

“Yeah” Early admitted. “I tried to kick my habit, but kept relapsing. Until someone told me I should smoke some pot instead to take the worst top if it all” He looked down at Ferris and smiled “I started out with Valium tho”

“I don’t blame you” Ferris said with a smile as well. “So what’s the plan?”

Photobucket
“The plan?” Early said with a saddened voice, “To clean myself and the flat, see my son and Crystal and hopefully get her to move back home with Ramon” He went over to the other side of the table and sat down. “And marry her”

Ferris nodded, “Do you want my help to fix up the apartment?” he asked again.

Photobucket
“I eh, I don’t know Ferris, I mean, I feel like I am leading you on or something, it would just feel wrong, y’know.” Early said with a strange expression, love mingled with regret.

“Come on Early, I was never your boyfriend, and I have no intention of ever being that, I like the relationship we have now. And as long as you and Crystal aren’t together, I see no reason for it to change. So I don’t mind fixing the apartment up for her, believe me” Ferris said, smiling sweetly.

Photobucket
“Still” Early said, his voice low.

“I just want you to be happy, and if happy is Crystal and Ramon, I will do my damnedest to make that happen” Ferris said, feeling the lie drip like honey coated venom from his lips.

Early nodded, “Okay, okay I would appreciate your help”

“Trust me, I will fix this place up like you wouldn’t believe” Ferris grinned, “Crystal will think she went into the wrong apartment”

Photobucket
Early nodded, taking a bite of his toast. “Uhm, Early” Ferris said a little nervously, “That leads me to something else, is it alright that I, eh, kinda like, eh, crash here for a while? Just until the place is fixed up”

“You, my friend, you can stay for as long as you need” Early said putting down his plate, looking at the old alarm clock on the kitchen desktop. “Oh I gotta run” He mumbled, “I’m gonna be too late for my job”

Ferris looked like Early grew an extra arm, “A job? you got a job?”

“I did” Early beamed. “At a diner, its nothing big, but it still beats the alternative”

Photobucket
“I’m amazed” Ferris mumbled, “Seriously, I thought that Setsuna would be the one to have a job, and you being six feet under. No offence”

“None taken, I thought so as well” Early said taking the last bite of his toast, “Seems like the universe had another idea”

Ferris just nodded, not knowing what to say.

“Look Ferris, are you gonna go back to the bus station? or do you maybe uhm, you know, need a real job too? Cause this girl at the diner just quit and I know there is a spot open”

Ferris looked thoughtful for a moment, thinking of Leon and his family at the island, and then nodded, not wanting to let all their kindness and patience go to waste.

TBC

Leave a Reply

